Serving the community since 1970

FFA students celebrate award night and new officers

Wasco FFA held its Friends and Family Awards program recently, honoring its students and welcoming in a new officer board.

Due to Covid, the event took place on the Wasco High football field. Mr. Farao, Mrs. Morales and Ms. Shew were dressed in their red carpet best. FFA members dressed in the official FFA uniform could be seen on stage and in the crowd.

This year's celebration marked 90 years of the Wasco FFA members' success and was memorable to the over 400 guests that attended the Friends and Family Awards Program and 90th Diamond Jubilee.

The first thing from that night was a celebration of the Transfer of Officership from the 2020-21 Officer Team to the 2021-22 Chapter Officer Team. The incoming officers include President Lindsay Lee, Vice President of the Chapter Sofia Reyes, Vice President of Community Christopher Padilla, Vice President of Members Henry Marin Acosta, Secretary Kalani Castillo, Treasurer Diego Gomez, Reporter Elizabeth Miller, Sentinel Vernelle Callahan, Jr., Historian Jalie Grundt, Historian Dayana Limon Santiago and Chaplain Jackelyn Villanueva.

Special recognition was given to members of the community like Barry Braun, Mr. and Mrs. Moreno and an Honorary Chapter Degree granted to John Marin for his services to the chapter during covid-19.

Mother of the Year is an award that recognizes a selfless and outstanding mother of a current member who has gone above and beyond for members of the chapter. This year the chapter recognized Elizabeth Gutierrez for her service over the last four years to the members of the Wasco FFA Chapter.

Some highlights of May student recognition were presented such as Outstanding Livestock Exhibitors, Star Greenhand, Start Chapter Award and Chapter Workhorse Award.

Wasco FFA also recognized and celebrated 192 members with a total GPA of 3.25 or higher.

Students who were outstanding in an Agriculture Course were also recognized for their hard work such as Agriculture Biology Elliot Garza, Animal Science Lindsay Lee, Veterinary Science Megan Brown, Horticulture Science Nyanza Guzman, Floral Mandi Murietta, Plant and Soil Science Ixchel Sanchez, Agriculture Welding Miguel Ibarra, Agriculture Farm Powers Henry Marin Acosta, Agriculture Government Sebastian Nunez, Agriculture Economics Jahnet Reyes – Rios and Agriculture Communications Year 1 Diego Gomez.

Mrs. Morales gave a speech to the graduating seniors and reminded them to be humble and kind.

Outstanding Exhibitor recognition was given to Sheep Mackinley Wankum, Swine Henry Marin Acosta and Goat Ixchel Sanchez.


Reader Comments(0)