Wasco Tribune - Serving the community since 1970

By Toni DeRosa
Wasco Tribune 

Bengals honor Coach Jones

Impact Awards go to players like him


December 27, 2018 | View PDF

Toni DeRosa | Wasco Tribune

Nathan Gallardo was named Bengal Athlete of the Year.

On Monday, the Wasco Bengals closed their 45th football season. They gathered to recognize team and individual accomplishments, and this year, especially to honor long-time Wasco youth advocate Marty Jones.

One player from each of the five teams was presented an award in honor of Jones.

In 1982, Jones served as president and head coach of the local youth football organization known as the Wasco Packers. While Jones was the leader, the Packers won the Southern Youth Football Championship. He often reminded his teams to "Never give up! You have to fight harder to finish what you start!"

Today, the Bengals continue his vision and legacy to see the local youth succeed on and off the football field. Jones exemplified outstanding sportsmanship, leadership, integrity and servanthood. This award was set out to recognize the Bengals athlete who best demonstrates the qualities that Jones had. Bengals were selected for this award by the coaching staff based on their impact on and off the field: Joe Montanez for the Rookie team, Adrian Perez for the Freshman team, Nathan Gallardo for the Sophomore team, Erasmo Prieto for the Junior Varsity team and Eli Vasquez for the Varsity team.

Toni DeRosa | Wasco Tribune

Coaches Gary Earl and Tony Jameson both coached with Marty Jones on the Wasco Packers team.

The Junior Varsity team, led by Coach Jose Robledo, was also recognized for their 9-0 undefeated regular season against tough competition as they beat teams that are feeder programs to Division 1 schools such as BHS and Liberty High School. Coach Robledo's team averaged 43 points per game while only allowing 20 points all season before taking a loss in the conference championship game against a tough Spartans team from Bakersfield.

Outstanding student athletes were also recognized for their excellence in the classroom. Emily Burlough, Alyssa Torres, Leah Samarin, Edgar Chavez, Adrian Perez, Noah Lopez, Kahli Vaughn, and Juan Ybarra were named Academic All-Area Team.

The Wasco Bengals continue in their mission to utilize football and cheer to cultivate and inspire a spirit of excellence and to bring the community together through the means of common interests in citizenship and character.

The Wasco Bengals serve approximately 200 student athletes each year and have been around since 1973. With the help of volunteer coaches, advisors, team moms and, of course, loyal fans, they have created a winning tradition.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/16/2021 10:44